Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 131st Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 34 officers representing 17 agencies in the SWLA area.  Thirty-one officers completed 519 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement.  Three officers completed 140 hours of refresher courses. These law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.

Derick Malveaux, Sulphur Police Department, was selected class president of the 131st Basic Academy.


The Academic Award was awarded to Julian Elliott, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Firearms awards were presented to:

Christopher Cartwright, first; Lake Charles Police Department

Koen LeBlanc, second; Jennings Police Department

Gavin Schexnider, third; Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office  


Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Elizabeth Morrison, Jeff Davis Sheriff’s Office


Physical Training was presented to Brianna Lopez, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office


Officers graduating after completing 519 hours of instruction are as follows:

Gavin Schexnider– Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office

Amberly Fontenot, Baylee Bergeron, Brianna Lopez, Gabrial Dofflemyer, Julian Elliott, Kyler Kibodeaux, Madison Mudd, Steven Stracener, Tylor Fogleman, Zoey Walters  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Jarod Lewing, Lisa Brady– Coushatta Tribal Police Department

Collin Janise, Elizabeth Morrison– Jeff Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

Jeremy Moriarity, Koen LeBlanc – Jennings Police Department

Anthany Duhon – Lake Arthur Police Department

Christopher Cartwright – Lake Charles Police Department

Kylie Rasmussen – McNeese University Police Department

Magnolia Nelson – Oakdale Police Department

Rosa Reynaud – Office of Juvenile Justice

Lane Breaux – Sam Houston Jones State Park Ranger

Cecil McCollough, Derick Malveaux, Jace Thebner, Kenneth Bartley, Marcus Anderson – Sulphur Police Department

Anthony Elswick – Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office

Ethan Miller – Welsh Police Department

Chase Ardoin – Westlake Police Department


Doloras Woolery, Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office, Joshua McCoy, DeQuincy Police Department, and Michael Harmon, DeRidder Police Department, graduated after completing 140 hours of refresher courses. 

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.