Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 130th Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 35 officers representing 15 agencies in the five-parish area.  Thirty-two officers completed 519 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement.  Three officers completed 140 hours of refresher courses. These law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.

Colton Gilbert, Oakdale Police Department, was selected class president of the 130th Basic Academy.

The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Katlyn Dugan, Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Firearms awards were presented to:

Luke Walker, first; Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office

Noah Veronie, second; Lake Charles Police Department

Zachary Meche, third; Lake Charles Police Department

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Alex Williams, Lake Charles Police Department

Physical Training was presented to William Rogers, Lake Charles Police Department

Officers graduating after completing 519 hours of instruction are as follows:

                        Brianna Hargrove, Luke Walker– Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office

Katlyn Dugan– Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Joshua Alfred, Jerika Bradley, Dallas Coffelt, Ethan Hext, Seokyoung Jang, Katherine Lafauci, Patrick Mouton, Alex Myers, Alexis Trahan, Evan Watson, Joshua Glover  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Patrick Jacobs– Coushatta Tribal Police Department

Keith Doyle, Joshua Blanchard– DeQuincy Police Department

Corey Henry– Iowa Police Department

Robert Guillory– Jeff Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

Brian Cormier, Britani Young – Jennings Police Department

Alex Holman– Lake Charles Harbor Police

                        Zachary Meche, William Rogers, Noah Veronie, Alex Williams – Lake Charles Police Department

Casey McGlothlin – Merryville Police Department

Colton Gilbert – Oakdale Police Department

                        Marcus Daniels, Lauren Jenkins – Office of Juvenile Justice

Mason Jeane – Rosepine Police Department

Marylyn Lejeune – Ward 3 Marshal’s Office

                        Trevor Duncan, Russell Lambert, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, and Denell Griffin, Coushatta Tribal Police Department, graduated after completing 140 hours of refresher courses. 

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.