Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 126th Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 40 officers representing 15 agencies in the five-parish area.  Thirty-six officers completed 505 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement.  Three officers completed 140 hours of refresher courses and one officer completed 220 hours of transition courses.  All 40 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.

Trevor Legg, Lake Charles Police Department, was selected class president of the 126th Basic Academy.

The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Ashlyn Lonidier, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Firearms awards were presented to:

Alec Blatcher, first; Sulphur Police Department

Paul Miller, Jr., second; Lake Charles Police Department

Adam Richard, third; Lake Charles Police Department

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Carson Walker, Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Department

Physical Training was presented to Tyler Kibodeaux, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Officers graduating after completing 505 hours of instruction are as follows:

                        Maria Avila, Adam Chambers, Jr., Tanya Savell, Krista West – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Spencer Biven, Meghan Boudreaux, Kimberly Cutrera, Patrick Hawley, Brandon Kelly, Tyler Kibodeaux, Aaron Laurents, Ashlyn Lonidier  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Collin Cloud, Carson Walker– Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Department

Anthony Figueroa, Rusty Goss – Coushatta Tribal Police Department

Douglas Bennett, Benjamin Busby, Robert Evans – DeRidder Police Department

Chief Bruce Lemelle – Elton Police Department

Charles Duhon – Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Christian Arabie, George Braneff, Hegemann Carter, Jr., Kelly Evans, Trevor Legg, Paul Miller, Jr., Adam Richard– Lake Charles Police Department

Jesica Thompson – Oakdale Police Department

                        Justin Bibby – Lake Charles Office of Juvenile Justice

Nicole Kearns, Warren Price, Crystal Snell – Probation & Parole

Abigale Barks, Alec Blatcher – Sulphur Police Department

Whitlea Cormier – Welsh Police Department

                        Jimmy Holmes, Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office, Jerry Childress, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, and Rocky Rhodes, Ward 3 Marshal’s Office, graduated after completing 140 hours of refresher courses.  Lucas Parker, Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office, graduated after completing 220 hours of transition courses. 


The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.