Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 121st Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 55 officers representing 17 agencies in the five-parish area.  These officers completed 509 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement.  All 55 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.

Tanner Atwell, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, was selected class president of the 121st Basic Academy.

The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Tanner Atwell, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Firearms awards were presented to:

Michael Courville, first; Lake Charles City Police Department

Recia Lopez, second; DeRidder Police Department

Tanner Atwell, third; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Eric Gruspier, Lake Charles City Police Department

Officers graduating after completing 509 hours of instruction are as follows:

                        Thomas Beaver, Quincy Buckley, Valerie Franks, Dustin Haller, Camille Rodriguez – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Eric Adams, Tanner Atwell, Daulton Boston, Kent Castille, Clint Cormier, Matthew Cormier, Jacob Guidry, Katilynn Kirkwood, Gregory Marshall, Matthew Nunez, Tommy Paul, Derek Racca, David Ritchie, Randy Schlesinger, Wendel Spillars, Brent Tradewell, Jake Verrette, David Williams  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Tylyn Landry, Hunter Manuel, Kara Wigley– Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Department

Jeremy Gatlin – DeQuincy Police Department

Recia Lopez – DeRidder Police Department

Keelan Poullard – Iowa Police Department

Lakyn Taber, Juan Yanez – Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

Dakota Cary, Erika Stevens, Cameron Williams – Jennings Police Department

Joseph Marcantel – Lake Arthur Police Department

                        Keithen Breaux, Kena Clymer, Michael Courville, Wyatt Davis, Russell Dennis, Jaylen Goodly, Eric Gruspier, Mildred Joseph, Kelvin Kirkwood, Steven McDaniel, Osvaldo Santiago, Peavey Santiago, Thadius Schecher – Lake Charles City Police Department

                        Jaclyn Lobbs – Lake Charles Office of Juvenile Justice

Stephanie Bryant – McNeese Police Department

Mariano Arvelo – Merryville Police Department

Teia Hampton – Oakdale Police Department

Ronnie Guillory – Sulphur Police Department

Nikkie Henry – Ward 3 Marshal’s Office

William Ryder – Westlake Police Department


The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.