Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 119th Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 44 officers representing 15 agencies in the five-parish area.  These officers completed 510 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement.  All 44 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.


Courtney Bertin, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, was selected class president of the 119th Basic Academy.


The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Christopher Austin, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office.


Firearms awards were presented to:

Sam Clouse, first; Lake Charles City Police Department

Courtney Bertin, second; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Dakota Baccigalopi, third; Lake Charles City Police Department

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Brandon Fontenot, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office


Officers graduating after completing 510 hours of instruction are as follows:


Samuel Bailey, Jr., Courtney Spikes – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

Christopher Austin, Bryce Badon, Minnie Bergeron, Courtney Bertin, Joshua Bertrand, Myra Brown, Kristin Clark, Crystal Duhon, Brandon Fontenot, Bradley Grant, Cornell Guidry, Maria Del Carmen Hebert, Robert Henriksen, Xavier King, Remy Miller, Carly Perkins, Devon Pesson, Crystal Stains, Hunter Stidham, Joshua VanAernam, Ethan Walls  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Demarcus Leonard, Joshua Welch– Coushatta Police Department

Saul Fajardo, William Reid – DeRidder Police Department

Lisa Leonard – Elton Police Department

Etienne Boone – Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

Dakota Baccigalopi, Sam Clouse, Julia Courville, Phillip Gardiner, Emberly LeDoux – Lake Charles Police Department

Jennifer Jarrell-Bell – McNeese Police Department

Michelle Campbell – Merryville Police Department

Joycelyn Jackson, Lorrie Johnson, Jerron Willis – Oakdale Police Department

Desmond Cole – Rayne Police Department

Kevin Doise – Reeves Police Department

Adam Hyatt – Office of State Fire Marshal

Ben Richard – Sulphur Police Department

Garrett Trahan – Vinton Police Department


The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.