Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 116th Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 36 officers representing 13 agencies in the five-parish area.  There were 33 officers who completed 374 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement; 2 officers who completed a transition course of 170 hours of instruction; and 1 officer who completed a refresher course of 90 hours of instruction.  All 36 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.

Candice Cradeur, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, was selected class president of the 116th Basic Academy.

The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Amber Istre, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Firearms awards were presented to:

Dylan Bedsole, first; Sulphur Police Department

Amanda Ake, second; Lake Charles Police Department

Jarrod Coker, third; Oakdale Police Department

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Amanda Ake, Lake Charles Police Department.

Officers graduating after completing 374 hours of instruction are as follows:

                        Michael Crommelin, Joshua Dorfman, Dylan Hinton, Shuntell March, Matthew Morris, William Stephens II, Aaron Watson – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Brandon Cormier, Candace Cradeur, Ryan Fontenot, Tammy Holt, Amber Istre, Shawnee King, Courtland Lane, Samantha Soileau, Robert LeQueux Jr., Rebeka Thierry, Eric Thomas  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

                        Troy Fontenot– Coushatta Police Department

Nathaniel Brown – Deridder Police Department

Rebeca David – Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

Brooke Rice– Jennings Police Department

Amanda Ake, Joshua Ewing, April Ouellette – Lake Charles Police Department

                        Matt McFarland – McNeese Police Department

Sadie Chatman, Jarrod Coker, Richard Reigel – Oakdale Police Department

Andy Laney – Oberlin Police Department

Kenneth Carrigan – South Toledo Bend State Park

Dylan Bedsole – Sulphur Police Department

Wade Wingate – Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office

Jason Charles, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, and James Marin, Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office, graduated after completing 170 hours of transition courses.  Rodney Irvine, DeRidder Police Department, graduated after completing 90 hours of refresher courses.   


The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.

Write a comment

Comments: 0