Lake Charles –


According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 115th Basic Academy by conducting graduation ceremonies today for 39 officers representing 16 agencies in the five-parish area.  There were 36 officers who completed 374 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement and 3 officers who completed a refresher course of 90 hours of instruction.  All 39 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.


Kelsey Morris, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, was selected class president of the 115th Basic Academy.


The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Cameron Smith, New Llano Police Department


Firearms awards were presented to:

John Beard, first; Sulphur Police Department

Brandon McNeely, second; Lake Charles Police Department

Jeffrey Strahan, third; Oakdale Police Department


Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Brandon McNeeley, Lake Charles Police Department.


Officers graduating after completing 374 hours of instruction are as follows:


Matt Hebert – Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office

Michael Plummer, Aaron Sharpe – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

Ami Aguillard, Jered Bellar, Artellus Bellard, Joshua Bruns, Brent Chesson, Christopher Clark, Ryan Cole, Cameron Ferguson, Kerrick Gabriel Jr., Antonio Hagans, December Martine, Kelsey Morris, Thomas Poore, Shawndrika Poullard, Michael Pousson  - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Michael Briggs, Marcus Lavergne – Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office

Gary Spears – DeQuincy Police Department

Harmon Cox – Deridder Police Department

Julia Willis – Harbor Police Department

Colleen Stringer – Iowa Police Department

Brandon Guillory, Christopher Wallace– Jennings Police Department

Brandon McNeeley, Frank Padillia, Josh Semien – Lake Charles Police Department

Halston Mills – Merryville Police Department

Cameron Smith – New Llano Police Department

Jeffrey Strahan – Oakdale Police Department

John Beard, Anastasia Vanhoussen – Sulphur Police Department

Loy Bader, Lydia Barton – Westlake Police Department


Sheila Peters, Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office, Joseph Baccigalopi, Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office, and Glenn Berry, Ward 4 Marshal’s Office, graduated after completing 90 hours of refresher courses.


The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis.  It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.

Write a comment

Comments: 0